Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Raising Dragons

     Raising Dragons is an awesome book. It is part of the series entitled Dragons In Our Midst. It is written by Bryan Davis that has also written the popular series Oracles of Fire and Children of the Bard. Also Bryan Davis is a Christian. Although this is a novel Christianity plays a big part in the book and series.

      Raising Dragons is about a boy named Billy Banister. Over time, he notices some of his abilities are not at all normal. He also discovers that his dad has a nasty secret that will change his (and the people he loves)  life forever. And the story continues in Raising Dragons, The Candlestone, Circles of Seven, and finally Tears of a Dragon.

     Also to bring to your attention even though this is a Christian book there are some places that may be a concern for you. This book was very good about being appropriate though here are some things that you may want to know about: disrespect to parents, violence, and a start to a girlfriend/boyfriend relationship.

I hope you will try out this book and look at some more of our recommendations.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

The Princess and Curdie

The Princess and Curdie is the sequel to The Princess and the goblin, written by George McDonald.

It is a very sound book with many good morals.
It takes place two years after the first book, and Curdie is now fifteen.
He begins to doubt the princesses Great-grandmother and his heard get cold toward all the silly beliefs that the Princess had about her Great-grandmother.
In other words, he starts to turn into a grownup, and adult, who don't go believing such silly fairy tales.
But Great-grandmother Irene has other plans for him, so she sends a dove.
And through some happenings and adventures, Curdie is sent off the the town of Gwyntystorm with a grotesque dog like animal, and his mattock, to save the Princess and her father, the king, from wicked treachery.
And he has to work fast, for he doesn't have much time, and the Princess is about to be married off to some evil guy who will wrench the kingdom from the imprisoned king.

I hope you read this book.
If you don't have it, you should.
And it's written for younger readers, but teens find it enjoyable also.

Monday, April 7, 2014

Five Children and It (book)

You may have seen Five Children and It in a used bookshop or at the library or any other place of this sort. Also if you are like me you would have picked it up (maybe read the back) and then probably set it down thinking it was another childish fairy-tale. This however is not. This book was written by Edith Nesbit. Edith Nesbit was one of first people (with George McDonald) to write Fantasy stories.

The style of the writing in the book is a little different that that of modern day writing, but I have grown to like it a lot.

The story is about five children- Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane, and the Lamb. (Which is their baby brother's nickname, and yes, I do agree that is very odd nickname but if you read the full book you'll notice that they all have animal nicknames.- The story starts with them moving into a house with a sand pit next it. One day they are digging in the sand and find a mysterious figure. It was a Psammead (a Sand Fairy) (pronounced Sammy-add). This Psammead can grant one wish per day to these children. The story is about them asking for wishes that would seem wonderful at the time but turns out badly in the end.

Now because I am writing a Christian Review on this book I will tell the how appropriate it would be. One of the things I really appreciated about this book is that there was not much wrong with it. Although the things I did find were this:

  • The four oldest children treated the youngest badly by disregarding him  a lot.
  • They were greedy in the first part (but I might be if I found a fairy).
 Other that this it was a spectacular book. I highly recommend it to all who have not heard of it. Have you read this book? If so write us a comment telling us how you liked it.

Five Children and It (novel) 1st ed.jpg

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

The Princess and the Goblin(book).

The Princess and the Goblin The Princess and the Goblin.

This is a really wonderful book written by George Mac Donald, the contemporary and inspiration of C.S.Lewis.
It is written for children of younger ages, but I, as a teenager, found it very interesting and well written.
It had a really great theme of faith.
It's a quick and easy read, and I suggest you look into it.
Here is a synopsis(of sorts).

Princess Irene lives in a castle in a wild and lonely mountainous region. One day she discovers a steep and winding stairway leading to a bewildering labyrinth of unused passages with closed doors - and a further stairway. What lies at the top? Can the ring the princess is given protect her against the lurking menace of the goblins from under the mountain? This complete an unabridged edition of "The Princess and the Goblin" is an ageless story of magic and mystery.

Just take a look into it when you get a chance.
It's appropriate for all ages.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

The Betayal(book).

This is another great book written by Douglas Bond.
Here is a synopsis.

"So ends the confession of Jean-Louis Mourin." This simple statement begins the final chapter of The Betrayal, A Novel on John Calvin, by Douglas Bond. Born in the village of Noyon in northern France, poor and envious Jean-Louis watches the finely dressed and privileged John Calvin excel in his studies at the grammar school. Twelve-year-old Calvin is set apart for the priesthood by the bishop of Noyon and begins to receive a substantial stipend as a boy chaplain.
Calvin travels to Paris to study at the Sorbonne and hires an ingratiating Jean-Louis as his personal servant. The new doctrines of the Reformers, which are spreading throughout France, are debated behind closed doors by Calvin and his friends. The prospect of being burned at the stake at the hands of King Francis I looms for all who subscribe to the "heretical" doctrine of salvation by grace alone through faith in Christ alone. Calvin becomes convinced of the truth of this new teaching while his trusted servant watches and listens, biding his time, surreptitiously gathering evidence and plotting how he might betray Calvin and his friends into the hands of the King's agents. Intrigue follows upon intrigue as Calvin goes first to Orleans to study law and then returns to the turmoil of Paris. When he becomes a hunted man, he flees to Switzerland.
Writing a first-person historical novel presents a set of unique challenges. Not only must the historical events be carefully researched and presented accurately, but also the character of the storyteller must be skillfully and seamlessly integrated into that historical record. In addition, a unique and personal voice for the storyteller, fitting for the era in which the story takes place, must be developed and consistently maintained throughout the novel. Bond carries all this off in a most engaging manner. Told by the servant Jean-Louis, who is a reliable and credible witness while at the same time demonstrating "an uncanny ability to be invisible," the story is a faithful retelling of the life of the great Reformer. Jean-Louis's manner of writing, through Bond, is at once familiar to modern-day readers, but at the same time employs certain words and turns of phrase that echo of antiquity, thus making the entire novel an engaging read and readily believable.
The Betrayal is a captivating story from which one may learn much about the life and times of John Calvin. Well researched and well written, it honors John Calvin and other early Reformers, but, more importantly, it honors Calvin's Savior, the Lord Jesus.

I hope you will take a look into this book if you have not read this already.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Sir Malcolm and the Missing Prince (book)

Sir Malcolm and the Missing Prince is a one of the Lamplighter Rare Collector Series. (Though it is not very difficult to find.) It was written by Sidney Baldwin. Here is what it is about:

There is a boy named Prince Hubert. He is very  greedy and selfish. His father tries to encourage him to change, because he would be the future king but Hubert doesn't listen. As the King looks for advice he comes across his trusted knight: Sir Malcolm. Malcolm says he has a plan that will change the boys attitude and will make him care for everyone not just himself.

Hubert (or Hue) finds himself walking many miles a day through forests and towns till he finally stops at a cottage owned by an old woman. He learns the important lesson that seeing the work to do and noticing that it needs to be done is just as important than the actual doing. How can a long walk, cottages, an old widow, and an adventure change his life? Join the action packed fantasy and discover the true meaning of work.

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Father Brown Stories(book).

This is a large book with many small detective stories written by G.K.Chesterton.

                                         They are quite interesting and amusing, and quite intriguing.                 
                                         If you have not read them, I suggest you do. I think you will like them very much.
                                        Here is a introduction to the Father Brown Stories.

Father Brown is a short, stumpy Roman Catholic Church priest, "formerly of Cobhole in Essex, and now working in London", with shapeless clothes and a large umbrella, and an uncanny insight into human evil. He makes his first appearance in the story "The Blue Cross" and continues through the five volumes of short stories, often assisted by the reformed criminal M. Hercule Flambeau. Father Brown also appears in a story "The Donnington Affair" that has a rather curious history. In the October 1914 issue of the obscure magazine The Premier, Sir Max Pemberton published the first part of the story, inviting a number of detective story writers, including Chesterton, to use their talents to solve the mystery of the murder described. Chesterton and Father Brown's solution followed in the November issue. The story was first reprinted in the Chesterton Review (Winter 1981, pp. 1–35) and in the book Thirteen Detectives.
Unlike the more famous fictional detective Sherlock Holmes, Father Brown's methods tend to be intuitive rather than deductive. He explains his method in 'The Secret of Father Brown': "You see, I had murdered them all myself... I had planned out each of the crimes very carefully. I had thought out exactly how a thing like that could be done, and in what style or state of mind a man could really do it. And when I was quite sure that I felt exactly like the murderer myself, of course I knew who he was."
Brown's abilities are also considerably shaped by his experience as a priest and confessor. In "The Blue Cross", when asked by Flambeau, who has been masquerading as a priest, how he knew of all sorts of criminal "horrors," he responds: "Has it never struck you that a man who does next to nothing but hear men's real sins is not likely to be wholly unaware of human evil?" He also states a reason why he knew Flambeau was not a priest: "You attacked reason. It's bad theology." The stories normally contain a rational explanation of who the murderer was and how Brown worked it out. He always emphasises rationality: some stories, such as "The Miracle of Moon Crescent", "The Oracle of the Dog", "The Blast of the Book" and "The Dagger With Wings", poke fun at initially sceptical characters who become convinced of a supernatural explanation for some strange occurrence, while Father Brown easily sees the perfectly ordinary, natural explanation. In fact, he seems to represent an ideal of a devout, yet considerably educated and "civilised" clergyman. This can be traced to the influence of Roman Catholic thought on Chesterton. He is characteristically humble, and is usually rather quiet; when he does talk, he almost always says something profound. Although he tends to handle crimes with a steady, realistic approach, he believes in the supernatural as the greatest reason of all.

I did not write this review, but I hope you enjoy.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Guns of Providence(book).

Guns of ProvidenceThis is the third book in the Faith and Freedom trilogy written by Douglas bond.
It's a good conclusion to the trilogy, and it's well written.
Here is a review

In this Faith & Freedom Trilogy Book 3, sixteen-year-old Sandy McKethe, son of Ian McKethe who plays important roles in the two previous books, Guns of Thunder and Guns of the Lion, sequel series to the Crown & Covenant trilogy, decides to go off to fight with the Continental Army under George Washington against the British in the American Revolution. After participating in the Battle of Dorchester Heights outside of Boston, MA, he and his new friend Salem Poor, a free black, sign on to serve in the Continental Navy aboard the sloop Providence under the intrepid sea captain John Paul Jones. Over the next four or so years, not only do they sail the seas capturing British ships, but they also spend some time in Paris, France, where Sandy meets both Benjamin Franklin and John Adams.

Upon returning to America, the two fellow soldier-sailors are assigned to the disastrous attempt under the hapless Commodore Dudley Saltonstall to take the British fortifications at Penobscot Bay in Maine, which results in total defeat and destruction to the Continental forces. What will happen to Sandy and Salem? Will they be captured or escape? Will they even survive? Here is historical fiction which presents an engaging and accurate account of America's revolutionary beginning without political correctness. Sandy faces some hard questions and wrestles with difficult decisions, as all believers do in times of crisis, but the emphasis of the book is upon his striving to follow God’s will in everything that he does. The ending is both sad and surprising. We did the book as a family read aloud and everyone enjoyed it.

I hope you get these books if you don't have them. They are good books with 
no bad and inappropriate sections, and are well written.

Sunday, February 23, 2014

A Thousand Years

This is a very beautiful piece done by the Piano Guys.
It's quite beautiful, and soft.
I hope you like it.

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Guns of the Lion(book).

Cover for Item ReviewedGuns of the Lion is the second book in the Faith and Freedom Trilogy written by Douglas Bond.
And this is also my favorite of the three books.
Here is a synopsis(I did not write this one).

As the second installment of Douglas Bond's Faith and Freedom Trilogy, Guns of the Lion begins shortly after the story in Guns of Thunder ends. Ian M'Kethe and the trusted Indian Watakoog are canoeing down the Connecticut River on their way to the new College of New Jersey, where Ian plans to enroll. Along the way, Ian reads a manuscript written by his cousin, Gavin Crookshank, about the many trials he endured during the recent Second Jacobite Rebellion of 1745–46.
The young Scottish shepherd Gavin is taken from his familiar moor by British troops and impressed into duty aboard the admiralty man-of-war HMS Lion. It is learned that Bonnie Prince Charlie and a small army of supporters have sailed from France aboard two ships in an attempt to reach Scotland, organize a rebellion, and take back the throne of England for the House of Stuart. The Lion sails into French waters to prevent the two French ships from carrying out their mission. In a pivotal sea battle, Gavin serves with distinction as a sharpshooter, but Charles escapes and lands safely on Scotland's shore.
Gavin's unique position as a Gaelic-speaking Scot who faithfully served King George II is noticed by the admiralty. He is sent back to Scotland as a spy with orders to infiltrate Charles's army of Scottish Highlanders. Gavin wrestles with his national and familial loyalties to his homeland and to Charles, who is often more rogue than sovereign, and his sworn allegiance to King George II of England. How can he reconcile the command of Scripture to honor his earthly king and obediently serve the King of heaven and earth? Gavin resolves to go as ordered and to do all he can to save lives and prevent senseless bloodshed. Will he succeed?
The historical setting of Guns of the Lion is accurately presented. The reader will learn much about this period of Scottish history. Bond's storytelling is compelling—you will not want to insert your bookmark and turn out the light—and is suitable for ages teen through adult. The plot flows naturally from the character Gavin Crookshank, who is engaging and likeable, one with daily struggles, tests of faith, and foibles we all can relate to. He weighs opposite and seemingly legitimate courses of action as he meditates upon the words of Scripture—an example all would do well to heed. On the first page of his manuscript, Gavin tells his readers in America, "I hope in God." In spite of the many hardships, challenges to both his person and his faith akin to the Pauline perils of 2 Corinthians 11:26, Gavin's hope is confirmed and he remains steadfast to the end.

I hope you enjoy.

Monday, February 17, 2014

Three Questions to Ask Before Watching a Movie.

This is another really good post from the desiring God blog.

Even though it is really long, I suggest you still read it. 

It's really profound and very true, you might be more careful about the movies you watch.


Three Questions to Ask Before Watching a Movie

Three Questions to Ask Before Watching a Movie It’s never been easier to watch movies, and lots of them.
Netflix, which leads the race as the top online streaming service, provides more than 10,000 movie options for its 40 million subscribers — and it’s flanked by formidable competitors like Hulu Plus, Redbox, and Amazon Prime. Considering the sheer crowd on this track, and each one’s continued efforts to specialize its features, the movie industry doesn’t appear to be slowing down.
Add to this online surge the weekly box office numbers, and one thing is clear: a lot of us are watching a lot of movies.
And let’s face it, they’re not all good movies. In fact, many of them are bad. And I mean bad in every sense — poor storylines, debaucherous scenes, shaky acting — there are plenty of ways it could go wrong. Which means, there are plenty of ways to ruin your evening by watching a movie. Therefore, we should think carefully before devoting hours of our lives to the screen, whether at home or in a theater. So in hopes of more thoughtful entertainment, here are three questions a Christian might ask before watching a movie.

1. Should I really watch this movie?

Seriously. Don’t assume you’ve already answered this question because you want to watch a movie. Back up and think honestly. Why are you interested in this movie? What is this movie about? How do you know that’s what the movie is about? What piqued your interest in it?
This sort of interrogation is simple permission to play. And we shouldn’t let up so easily. Don’t be duped by the rating or the trailer. Those are both marketing tools that are not trying to talk you out of watching. Read some reviews. See what other people are saying about it. And of course, set a standard, which won’t be the same for everyone. Without getting into prescriptions here, consider two aspects for how you discern that standard.
First, make it a reasonable benchmark that you can sustain. Which means, don’t make overly audacious goals built on bad logic. Consider whether your movie standard, if applied to the Bible, would bar you from reading important portions of the Old Testament. And, to be sure, don’t think that biblical narratives like David and Bathsheba, or Ehud the assassin, mean it’s okay for us to watch similar scenes on screen. Be critical and sober about what you say is good to watch.
Second, how you discern a movie standard is largely determined by your integrity. Some movies should be out of the question, and for those on the bubble, we know best how certain things affect us. We know where we are weak. And if you are unsure, I think it’s safe to say that if you find yourself repeatedly stumbling over the same sort of scene, then it means you should avoid it. We just know, if we’re like most people, we shouldn’t watch everything put before us. Sacrificing our serenity of mind — or mental purity — is not worth a few minutes of supposed entertainment. We can still understand a story even if someone stronger has to fill in the gaps we can’t handle.

2. Where are the true and false depictions of reality?

This actually starts with the concession: this movie will have true and false depictions of reality. Then we ask, so where are they?
We should be shrewd here. Oftentimes the most twisted depictions of reality are in the PG flics, and worse, the feel-good movies that present a dangerously shallow picture of romance. Letting our guard down on these romantic comedies is partly responsible for the mass confusion today when it comes to dating and relationships. Unless we watch these cheesiest of movies with a critical eye, we may simply be inviting Hollywood to instruct us on what love is. Look for what’s false and expose it, at least in your own mind. Work at recognizing the garbage even in the prettiest packages.
And also, be able to see the good — because most of the time, even in the darkest of movies, something true is being said about the world. Mentioning examples in movies risks a perceived endorsement, and a spoiler if you’ve not seen them yet, but some themes to look for include:
  • confusion — Are the chaotic moments in the storyline treated as problematic? Is there a restlessness about them?
  • hope — Is there a perceivable solution to the problem? Is that solution sought?
  • justice — Is there genuine recoil against evil? Does the oppressor pay in the end?
  • mercy and grace — Are there moments when the character forbids a harmful tactic even when it’s in his or her power? Are there surprising moments when a character is motivated only by the good of another?
  • sacrifice — Is putting others before yourself, even at personal cost, imbibed by one of the characters?
  • order — Is a resolution realized by the movie’s end? Do the characters sense that the chaotic events of the story have been put to rights?
There are others, but this is a good start. Basically, we want to watch movies with an eye for the true, the honorable, the just, pure, lovely, and commendable. Heeding Paul’s instructions in Philippians 4:8, we should “think about these things” — which doesn’t mean we retreat from the world and handcuff ourselves to the idea of truth, but that we go out into God’s created world and look for the truth that’s there — especially when we are watching a movie.

3. What kind of hero does this movie really need?

This last question is related to the previous. The themes mentioned there are fundamental for a decent story, even though they’re sure to be flawed. There has to be some sense of confusion portrayed as confusion, and some concluding sense of order portrayed as order. But each movie’s definition of confusion and order probably won’t line up perfectly with God’s.
In the same way, every movie will have its hero. There will be a protagonist — the character that we are supposed to root for, the one who we consider better than ourselves just enough to want to be like him, at least in some ways. And, in most cases, this character won’t line up perfectly with the true and better Hero.
So what if we asked, when this hero is put forward, how the true and better Hero would act? Whether than this or that flaw, how would he be perfect? No Achilles’ heel to work around. No foible to tolerate. How would Jesus be in this movie? How could the good ending be even better?
What if we let the message of the movie point us to the bigger and better story that is actually real life? The one where the writer enters the script and assumes the guilt of his characters, suffering in their place and defeating their greatest foe, and only then to reign as the unseen king through the simple acts of his former-fiends-now-turned-friends until the day when everyone and everything will see him as he is, when justice is executed and mercy consummates the creation of a whole new world where pain is eternally absent and joy is eternally endless.
Christian, this is our story — the true story. And if we are going to lend our mind to a movie, let us walk away with a greater grasp of what really is.

Saturday, February 15, 2014

Cello Wars(Piano Guys).

This is a hilarious parody done by the Piano Guys on Star Wars.
It was done really well, and I hope you enjoy it.

Thursday, February 13, 2014


This is another beautiful piece done by Libera, an amazing boys choir.
I know it's not Christmas, but I still want to post it.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Guns of Thunder(book).

Front CoverThis is the first book in the Faith & Freedom Trilogy written by Douglas Bond.
 I recommend this book, especially for those looking for a bit of North American history, and who like story's that have a biblical world view with no bad language.
If you don't have This book, I suggest you try it. It's well written, has lots of action, dialog, and is safe for smaller children. 

It's on the life of a young American during the French and Indian war.
As war nears, Ian MKethe is too young to go. His grandfather teaches him to hunt, along with Watookoog, an Indian, who hunts with a bow. Ian takes care of the farm by himself, growing a crop of corn and selling it to provide form his family. Although he really wants a new rifle, he makes a sacrifice and purchases a pair of spectacles for his cousin Roland instead. For the first time in ages, Roland can see clearly.When the war arrives, Roland enlists. Ian is still too young to go. He continues to work his cornfields and take care of his family. When Roland is taken prisoner at Louisbourg, Ian in consumed with worry. Had Roland been injured? Lost his spectacles? Would the French force him to fight against his own colonials?Now eighteen, Ian leaves his family and goes to war. But he doesn't get to fight. He find himself engage in manual labor, salvaging debris, moving cannons, digging trenches, and building. One day when he is gathering firewood, he is shot at. An Indian attacks him. But before the Indian can finish him off, Frenchmen take him prisoner. This is an intriguing story of a boys life during the French & Indian War. There is a lot of history packed in here, including some historical issues of faith. Overall the story was interesting as were the historical facts and Ian's life on the farm.

Saturday, February 8, 2014


This is very amazing.
I have never seen anything like this before and it gives men the goose bumps when I watched it.
It's some sort of Irish dancing that is really amazing.
Hope you enjoy.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

The Entertainer

This is a nice piece that you have probably heard many times before, but I like it very much.
So here is the Entertainer by Scott Joplin.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Douglas Bond.

Douglas Bond is a Christian writer who has written more than 20 books,
primarily historical fiction.
He writes books that are safe for all ages, and very intriguing and real.
Check out his blog here, and I will be doing reviews on some of his books in the upcoming weeks.

Monday, February 3, 2014

A very amazing story.

This is a story of  a young man with Down Syndrome who owns a restaurant.
It's just so amazing what God can do in peoples lives.
watch it and pass it on.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

The Lost Baron(book).

This is another book written by Allan French.
It's another great mystery book, and a good read.
Here is a preview.

 Martin, son of Sir Anselm of the Hollow, risks his life more than one time, in this fast-paced mystery of 1200. The good king Richard is dead, and his brother John is king, and will do anything to get money. Suddenly, Baron Eric disappears, and his moody and jealous cousin Basil moves in. His daughter Rosamund and wife can do nothing to stop him, so the castle is in danger. In an unguarded moment of kindness, Basil invites Martin to become a page in the castle. Will Martin take the chance and somehow save the castle and Rosamund? Or will he fall into the hands of a dreadful foe?

It's a really good book.

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Thursday, January 23, 2014


Here is a website with some really cute pictures of birds.
 This photographer catches these birds in the most amusing positions.
I hope you enjoy.                              

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

The Red Keep(book).

The Red Keep is another book written by Allen French.
 This is another great book, and if you don't have them, I suggest that you do.
This is fit for all ages.

Here is a section of the book.

The Red Keep stood a half mile away, the square block of its heavy tower dominating the lesser buildings.
Above it hung a pall of smoke, fed by black wreaths that curled upward from the narrow windows. Not far outside the gate a huddle of huts was burning furiously. In all the scene there were no men, unless some few were unseen among a score or more of horses standing grouped close to the drawbridge of the castle.
The horses and the double fire made it very clear that this was a raid, a surprise, a fight as yet unfinished.
Sir Roger shouted "Rescue!" and drew his sword. Conan, in a voice that cracked as he raised it, repeated the word and the action. "Blow trumpet!" cried Sir Roger, to hasten the laggards. "Forward!" From the knoll the horsemen furiously spurred the save their friends.

Hope you enjoy.

Saturday, January 18, 2014

Piano Guys Lord of the Rings

I love this one.
If you've never seen Lord of the Rings you are missing out.
This is the soundtrack done by the piano guys. It's awesome.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Rolf and the Viking Bow(book).

This is a great book written by Allen French.                                                         
It has a wonderful plot and is extremely captivating, and draws you in.
Here is the synopsis.

The Story of Rolf and the Viking Bow is a remarkable tale told in the style of an old Norse saga. It is the story of the Soursop family who live right on the western coast of newly Christianized Iceland around 1010 AD. Rolf, the son, is fine in all the ways a father could desire: courageous, agile, thoughtful, loyal and strong. He is also very good with a bow and arrows. His father, Hiarandi, is named the Unlucky because his fortunes have dwindled and he has lost numerous legal battles with his neighbors.
One night, while a storm rages, Hiarandi's wife convinces him to light a beacon fire to help a ship which is foundering off the coast. This is not the normal practice of the time as the coast dwellers have come to rely on the booty from wrecked ships. His actions set off a chain of events which eventually lead to his own demise. The owner of the ship is Hiarandi's brother, Kiartan. Instead of thanking Hiarandi, Kiartan steals from him and leaves him to answer for a crime that Kiartan commits.
At the "Althing" meeting, Hiarandi's covetous neighbor, Einar, charges Hiarandi with the blood debt for Kiartan's crime. Einar wins a lesser judgement against Hiarandi, however, and Hiarandi is sentenced to remain on his own property for one year, that is, not to step off it more than one bow's-shot distance. Just before the year is over, Einar's men convince Hiarandi's only remaining thrall to run away. Hiarandi chases him to within one bow's shot distance but Einar's men are waiting and kill Hiarandi. Rolf, who witnesses the whole incident, kills one of the attackers and wounds several others. Einar claims that Hiarandi stepped out of bow shot distance from his property and so his death was legal. Although his own bow shot falls some feet short of the distance, Rolf insists that someone could be found to shoot the distance and prove his father's innocence. So he travels to seek someone who can shoot better than he. Along the way he wins the loyalty of many influential men and warriors who take up his cause, but none can shoot far enough.
Finally Rolf is outlawed for the death of Einar's man and he and his cousin flee Iceland. Einar gains Hiarandi's property and lives in the house which should have been Rolf's. While at sea, Rolf's ship is captured by Vikings and he and his cousin are taken captive. The Vikings are then defeated and captured by Orkney men. Rolf and his cousin are unlawfully made thralls of the Icelandic foster son of a thane of Orkney. This boy, Grani, lacks all the virtue Rolf possesses yet Rolf is able to teach him many things. They survive a Viking attack together and travel to warn the Earl of Orkney of the Viking invaders, becoming friends along the way. In all this adventure, Rolf acquires the bow from the burial mound of a Viking warrior.
Grani frees Rolf from his thralldom but as they return to Iceland, Grani reveals that his birth father is Einar. In his pride Grani will not ask Rolf forgiveness for all the wrongs he has done him since his capture so they must go to shore as enemies. Their ship crashes off the coast and Rolf rescues Grani bringing him to Einar's house. After escaping capture, Rolf disguises himself as a woman and lives a few months at his mother's dwelling up the hill from Einar and Grani.
At a harvest feast at Einar's house, in a marvelous scene, Rolf arrives disguised as the woman and shoots the Viking bow the distance to where his father fell, thus proving his death unlawful. Einar must forfeit the property and live up the hill at the dwelling where Rolf's mother had been. Rolf sends Einar and Grani trouble after trouble until Grani's pride finally breaks and he begs Rolf's forgiveness. Rolf immediately forgives him and they are restored as neighbors and friends and the unlucky curse on the Soursop line is ended.
Although this adventure is the story of Rolf's steadfast victory over his evil circumstances, it is also the story of the maturation of Grani. He begins as a self-indulged, selfish and wrongfully proud boy and he grows into an honorable man. All along the way he can see that Rolf is in the right, but he cannot bring himself to admit it to Rolf. Finally his will accepts what his heart knew all along. The last chapter of the book is drawn masterfully to this conclusion and is as satisfying as the scene where Rolf's bow shot vindicates his father.
There is much more to the story than this summary can cover. It is full of details of Icelandic and Orkney life and of the legal system to which the people are bound. The fact that it is written entirely, flawlessly as a Norse saga lends it authenticity and makes it a joy to read.